How Do You Feel About Authority?

There are a lot of things about the current culture that bothers believers: sexual looseness, drugs, alcohol, homosexuality…etc. But what bothers me the most is the culture’s lack of respect for authority. Unfortunately, this is not only a problem in secular culture, it is a problem in the church as well. I’m not talking about lay people. Specifically, I am talking about young church leaders. I would love to post more on this at a later time, but for now here is a quote from Mark Driscoll that I think hits the nail on the head…

“Sit down, learn. Be under authority, and prove yourself. If you will demonstrate faithfulness, someday you can be in authority. And when you get in authority, you can make some changes. Some of you love the idea of being in authority, but you resist the thought of being under authority.”

What do you think?

