Alcohol Part 3

Here is my final say on the alcohol debate…

  • I’m not going to continue to argue the non-essentials. Virgin Birth? Resurrection? Trinity? Yes, I’ll argue those. The moderate drinking of alcohol? No. So this is my last word on this blog.
  • While I do defend the moderate drinking of alcohol scripture is absolutely clear that drunkenness is a SIN! (Eph. 5:19) (Drinking a glass of wine with dinner is not.)
  • If you cannot give up alcohol for one month, you have a problem, and your problem is preventing you from keeping in step with the Holy Spirit and being all that God has called you to be. You need help. Drinking is NOT okay for you.
  • If you are a believer and your conviction is that moderate drinking is okay, I would encourage you to only do that in the privacy of your own home. Drinking publicly could cause a brother or sister to stumble.
  • I’ve already said this very clearly, but let me say it ONE MORE TIME! As a Wesleyan Pastor I will uphold the membership commitments as set forth by The Discipline, whether I agree with them or not. Period.
  • However, I will fight for those who are not doing anything Jesus didn’t do Himself. We should not have two tiers of membership in the Wesleyan Church. According to the Bible moderate drinkers can be Spirit filled believers, but they cannot be full members in The Wesleyan Church. Sorry, but that makes no sense.
  • While I do believe that the moderate drinking of alcohol is not a sin, I must also say that I have not had a drop of alcohol in 16 years, and I don’t miss it. It is not a necessity of life.
  • My prayer is that no one will take this post as license to sin. I am only trying to promote Christian liberty within the Body.
  • Nuff said. On to more important matters…
